Skip to main content

Helias Catholic celebrates 2023-24 senior awards

Posted Date: 05/16/2024

Helias Catholic High School recognized seniors in the graduating Class of 2024 for their academic performance, service and achievements during the 2023-24 school year at a ceremony Wednesday, May 15.

Karoline Klebba and Samuel Wyrick received the Father Helias Award, given to a senior boy and girl chosen as a result of their outstanding contribution to Helias Catholic during their four years of attendance.

Ava Morris and Kase Winegar received the American Legion Citation, given to a senior boy and girl selected by the faculty based on leadership, scholarship and service.

Nicholas Ammons and Emily Rodriguez received the Veterans of Foreign Wars Award, given to a senior boy and girl selected by the faculty based on citizenship, scholarship and good attendance record.

Five seniors received the John Baptiste De La Salle Service Award for contributing 500 or more hours of service to our community during their high school years: Jayla Howard, Madison Kempker, Karoline Klebba, Katherine Roling and Madison Verslues.

Seven seniors received the Blessed Theresa of Jesus Gerhardinger Service Award for 100 or more hours of community service during the 2023-24 school year: Adalyn Bayer, Jayla Howard, Karoline Klebba, Emma Korba, Matthew Malmstrom, Katherine Roling and Madison Verslues.

Anna AuBuchon, Jack Callahan, Alison Forbis, Lane Jennings, Nathan Kever, Karoline Klebba and Ava Morris received The Foundation for the Benefit of Helias Catholic High School Scholarship for $2,000.

Enzo Lenart and Kearra Steinlage received the Hawthorn Bank Award, given to a boy and girl in each class who have the highest academic achievement.

Mary Lorang, Ava Morris and Samuel Wyrick received the Hawthorn Bank Scholar Athlete Award, based on GPA and athletic performance.

Sarah Knollmeyer received a $1,000 scholarship from the Jefferson City Breakfast Rotary Club.

Claire Ashley received the Mid America Bank Scholarship for being an exemplary student and community member.

Bree Meyer received the Zonta Irene Robinette Scholarship for $1,000.

Four seniors received scholarships from the Pink Star Foundation, whose mission is to provide assistance for the elderly, those with disabilities and the homeless community in the greater Jefferson City area. They are Madison Verslues ($2,500 scholarship), Alexandria Wilde ($1,500 scholarship), Kate Renkemeyer ($1,000 scholarship) and Jada Markway ($500 scholarship).

Garrett Ickes and Samuel Wyrick received the Corey Bax Memorial Scholarship for $1,000, established by the Bax family in memory of their son Corey, who was a graduate of the Class of 2008.

Anna AuBuchon received the Red Cross Service Scholarship of $500.

Madison Verslues received the Maddie Scott Scholarship for $2,000, awarded to a senior with good community involvement and a minimum 3.0 GPA.

Sydney Drinkard and Garrett Ickes received the River Region Credit Union Scholarship for $2,000.

Samuel Wyrick received the KWOS Sportscasters Scholarship for $500, awarded to a graduating senior who has a good academic record and has lettered in at least one sport.

Katherine Roling received the Council for Drug Free Youth scholarship for $500.

Karoline Klebba received the JCMG Health Science Scholarship for $1,000.

Max Pope received the Insurance Professionals of Mid-Missouri Scholarship for $750.

Jeremiah Bruemmer received the MFA Foundation Scholarship for $2,000. This scholarship is one of approximately 270 presented this year by the MFA Foundation to help students pursue studies and develop careers that enhance the future of rural America.

Grayden Schmitz received cum laude honors for outstanding performance on the National Latin Exams.

Emily Rodriguez received the Outstanding Youth Leadership Award, presented by Helias Catholic’s Partner in Education, SSM Health St. Mary’s Hospital.

Eight seniors have been honored with induction into La Société Honoraire de Français (French Honor Society), the highest honor awarded to those who study French at Helias Catholic: Gracie Bullock, Allison Echelmeyer, Alison Forbis, Sophia Johnson, Sarah Knollmeyer, Emelia Lyskowski, Emily Rodriguez and Olivia Vaught.

Kailey Cracraft received the Jefferson City Evening Lions Club Scholarship for $750.

Ten seniors received the Joseph Mayer Memorial Scholarship: Evan Dunn, Alison Forbis, Graham Kauffman, Nathan Kever, Karoline Klebba, Luke Labenz, Enzo Lenart, Jada Markway, Ava Morris and Kendyll Rackers.

Bree Meyer received the Donald and Virginia Campbell Scholarship for $500.

Ava Morris received the Robert J. Schnieders Memorial Scholarship for $1,000.

Kate Renkemeyer received the Jerome and Beatrice Forck Scholarship.

Paige Sooter received the David Kenneth Clark Scholarship for $1,000. This scholarship program is for local graduating high school seniors who will be attending a college or vocational school.

Hayden Kennison and Katherine Roling received the National School Choral Award, which is the highest honor for high school choral performers and recognizes the dedication and musical achievement of the top two graduating choral students.

Ten seniors received the Glory of Missouri Award, which recognizes students who exemplify the 14 characteristics upheld by the state of Missouri: knowledge, liberty, equality, law, justice, fraternity, education, progress, honor, truth, virtue, temperance, enterprise and charity: sophomore knowledge, liberty, equality, law, justice, fraternity, education, progress, honor, truth, virtue, temperance, enterprise and charity:

  • Anna AuBuchon, Liberty.
  • Kailey Cracraft, Truth.
  • Allison Echelmeyer, Temperance.
  • Karoline Klebba, Knowledge.
  • Enzo Lenart, Justice.
  • Mary Lorang, Equality.
  • Mark McDonald, Progress.
  • Ava Morris, Fraternity.
  • Katherine Roling, Virtue.
  • Madison Verslues, Education.

Mason French and Mary Lorang received the Award of Excellence from the Missouri State High School Activities Association for exemplary display of sportsmanship, ethics and integrity.

Allison Echelmeyer received the Tuesday Club Grace Blair Humanities Award, which honors a senior student who has excelled in the humanities.